Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Barbados and some hot sauce......

After some serious rocking and rolling overnight (this is very unusual, once we are close to the islands it's much calmer) we were awakened by the chair dragging championships right above our heads.....see, our room is all the way aft and right under the outside Sunset bar - most mornings haven't been too bad, but I think since we didn't dock in Barbados until 930am, everyone decided to hold the chair dragging championships right above our room.   It's truly baffling today - after almost falling out of bed when it felt like we hit a whale overnight (we didn't) the chair dragging olympics were more than I could take.....!!!

Barbados is also a nice island - it seems to have a lot more $$ than most other Caribbean islands, so feels a lot like Florida to me - pool time today - about 10am there were may 20 people around - and it was pretty sunny - my kind of pool day!

We were joined by the Costa Magica and Carnival Fascination and a smaller ship I didn't see the name of.  So the port was pretty busy, and we were wayyyyy out on the end like every other time I've been to Barbados.  Last time we were here in February, we did a snorkel tour and I bought some Barbados hot sauce on the way back......it proved very popular with the people I gave it to, so after the pool filled up AND I had picked the wrong side so I was now in the shade, we decided to brave the shuttle bus and hit the shop in the cruise dock for a few more bottles.   Total trip time - about 30 minutes and man, it was HOT out there!  I took a picture to prove we got off the ship.

We got back to ship and had our nice iced towels (ahhhhhhhh) as we got onboard, and took the day's purchases back up to the room.   We were docked in Barbados until about 6pm (all aboard at 530pm!) so we watched the Carnival Fascination leave at 5pm (she sails out of San Juan, PR from what I looked up)  Dinner in Luminae looked pretty good - so we decided to eat around 615pm, which gave us just enough time to get cleaned up and ready to go by 6pm and we started our sailaway about then too.  It's an interesting process - we had to back into a basin area around a curve (think backing around a corner in a car) and then once straight - full steam ahead!  St Maarten, here we come!
Dinner was good - took about 90 minutes and had a fabulous chocolate soufflĂ© for dessert - probably the best I've ever had - and they had the soft rolls back, so I ate 4.  Love the soft rolls.
Tried a different bar - the World Class bar up on deck 5 - the cocktails are very fancy and served in what appears to be Waterford crystal glasses - I had the Celebrity #10, which was pretty good - not sure we'll be going back as the people watching was disappointing, although it was more chill up there.   After 9 when the 2nd show started and people were at 830 dinner, we went down to the Martini bar to see what was up - it's a good time to get seats, as most everyone is off somewhere else until about 945pm.   It did pick up a bit later, and we had some fun people watching (2 girls were having somewhat of an argument, but they were trying to keep it quiet) and the usual loud drunk old people (yes, really!).   Our entertainment for the evening was pretty much watching the KGW coverage of the snowpocalypse in Portland - looked like a friggin mess (reminds me of the one a few years back where they didn't let everyone out in time and it took me 3 hours to drive the 7 miles from Nike to my house) so can't say I was unhappy I was here vs there!!!!  Packed it up about 11pm and hoped it wasn't as rocky tonight as it's been all week! 

No comments:

Post a Comment